Profile: Sean

Personal background
I'm a 33 year-old 4th grade teacher born in San Diego, California, currently living in Phoenix, Arizona U.S.A. I lived in Tokyo, Japan for seven years and am married to a wonderful woman. I was an alien in her country, and now she is one in mine! My hobbies include reading, writing and jazz (Thelonious Monk, Duke Ellington, John Coltrane, etc.). I can speak three languages, I play guitar, double bass and harmonica, and I have a deep interest in Buddhism. I enjoy science fiction novels and films (Robert Heinlein; anything by Phillip K. Dick; the "Alien" film series). When I grow up I want to remain a kid at heart.
Thoughts about SETI and SETI@home
I think there is a strong possibilty that extraterrestrial life exists, however, given the vastness of space, I think it will be very difficult to find someone or something else out there close enough to contact. A further difficulty is that human knowledge of the universe is still rather limited--indeed, our understanding of anything is limited by time and space--will we be able to recognize an extraterrestrial life-form if/when we encounter it? Is our definition of "life" too narrow? Or limited to only that which our brains are able to comprehend? These are difficult questions to answer, but that is no reason not to seek out extraterrestrial life. This is why I participate in the SETI project; this is my chance to take part in the last and greatest human endeavor: to search the unknown corners of our solar system and the universe.
Your feedback on this profile
Recommend this profile for User of the Day: I like this profile
Alert administrators to an offensive profile: I do not like this profile
Account data View
Team None

©2024 University of California
SETI@home and Astropulse are funded by grants from the National Science Foundation, NASA, and donations from SETI@home volunteers. AstroPulse is funded in part by the NSF through grant AST-0307956.