Installed BOINC before Uninstalling setiathome 3.08

Questions and Answers : Windows : Installed BOINC before Uninstalling setiathome 3.08
Message board moderation

To post messages, you must log in.

AuthorMessage
Doug-h

Send message
Joined: 21 May 99
Posts: 14
Credit: 619,067
RAC: 136
United States
Message 10564 - Posted: 21 Jul 2004, 4:49:02 UTC

In the BOINC window, Under the work tab the application listed is setiathome 3.08, for the current and next 5 workunits.

Is this what the application should be? I suspect not.

This is likely the result of installing BOINC before uninstalling setiathome 3.08.

After uninstalling setiathome 3.08, all the messages that were listed are now gone, and there are no entries under the Transfers tab.

In the prior message list there were entries that acknowledged successful uploads.

If this is not a correct usage of BOINC - what must I do to properly use the application?

Thanks in advance.

Doug
ID: 10564 · Report as offensive
Profile Ranz
Volunteer tester

Send message
Joined: 19 May 02
Posts: 34
Credit: 338,178
RAC: 0
United States
Message 10567 - Posted: 21 Jul 2004, 4:59:25 UTC

The 3.08 is the version of the SETI app that's current. Your BOINC version is 3.20. Looks like everything was working well. You stated you uninstalled 3.08. I hope you meant the Classic SETI. Now you say all the messages are gone from BOINC? Do you still have the 5 WU's listed under the 'work' tab? Or did you somehow 'reset' your BOINC? If you had WU's stored under the 'work' tab in BOINC for SETI 3.08, then you were good to go. If you had SETI Classic still running, you should have just exited/closed the program and let only BOINC run. Give some more info and let me know what's going on now...



Ranz
ID: 10567 · Report as offensive
Doug-h

Send message
Joined: 21 May 99
Posts: 14
Credit: 619,067
RAC: 136
United States
Message 10577 - Posted: 21 Jul 2004, 5:37:40 UTC - in response to Message 10567.  

Ranz,

Thank you for your reply.

I did uninstall the Classic SETI.

After just installing some Windows updates (a never ending process!) and restarting the PC, the previous messages are gone, and a new list - starting at the machine's restart time are present.

The 5 WU's are still listed under the work tab.

Looks like I am OK as is - although it is not clear what has to happen to get entries under the BOINC 'transfers' tab.

I found out about SETI@home's change quite by accident - normally the machine is on autopilot, I was using SetiMonitor - and it uploaded / downloaded and dialed in wihtout any intervention.

Sure wish the folks running this had sent an e-mail with a specific list of instructions and do's and don'ts.

Thanks again - your informed comments are greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Doug



ID: 10577 · Report as offensive
Profile Ranz
Volunteer tester

Send message
Joined: 19 May 02
Posts: 34
Credit: 338,178
RAC: 0
United States
Message 10592 - Posted: 21 Jul 2004, 6:11:32 UTC - in response to Message 10577.  
Last modified: 21 Jul 2004, 6:12:50 UTC

> Ranz,
>

> The 5 WU's are still listed under the work tab.
>
> Looks like I am OK as is - although it is not clear what has to happen to get
> entries under the BOINC 'transfers' tab.
>
>
> Thanks again - your informed comments are greatly appreciated.
>
> Regards,
>
> Doug
>


No problem Doug. Looks like everything's working fine for you. Yep, the messages will get deleted when you shut the program down or do a restart of your PC. As for the 'transfers' tab, you would have to be very fast to see what's going on. If you are connected to the internet and you have results to return or WU's are being uploaded for you to cache and process... then you will see stuff happening in the 'transfers' tab. If you are not connected, you will see something like "WU ready to report" in the 'transfer' tab if you have a result to return. You will also have to go to the 'project' tab, right-click on SETI and 'update' when you have results to return. Make sure you are very careful here. There are other options (detach and reset) that would be very bad. Detach will cause you to completely 'detach' from the project... losing all work processed so far and any WU's in cache. You will then have to 'attach' to the project again with your Account ID and URL. Reset does the same except you will still be attached. All work progress and WU's in cache will be lost. Neither option has the "are you sure you want to do this... Y/N?" confirmation box. It just will if you click on them. Be careful.


Yes, it woud have been nice to get some kind of notification of the change. Communication is very essential... and something the SETI ADMIN lacks greatly when it comes to this project and it's participants...




Ranz
ID: 10592 · Report as offensive

Questions and Answers : Windows : Installed BOINC before Uninstalling setiathome 3.08


 
©2017 University of California
 
SETI@home and Astropulse are funded by grants from the National Science Foundation, NASA, and donations from SETI@home volunteers. AstroPulse is funded in part by the NSF through grant AST-0307956.