Profile: LS1Grrrl

Personal background
I'm 25 years old, and am a software developer in Winter Park FL. I enjoy spending time with my wonderful bf (Will), playing with my computers, driving/racing/working on fast cars (I have a pewter '99 Formula Firebird named Bernadine), and playing with my children Oni (lab-great dane mix) and Ayasha (red tail boa).
Thoughts about SETI and SETI@home
I do believe in extraterrestrial life. Its a big universe and it'd be an awful waste of space if we were the only life... There are probably more benefits and dangers than I can list to discovering life beyond our own planet. I'm sure science would grow by leaps and bounds which is rife with benefits and dangers. Maybe discovering other life would give humans a better perspective on their own importance in the grand scheme of things.

Even though there are alot of dangers in discovering new life, I still believe we should make every attempt to communicate with others beyond our world. I think the knowledge that could be gained is important enough to take the risk.

I run SETI@Home because its the only real way I know to contribute to a cause that I believe should be pursued. Giving up a little bit of my CPU and bandwidth is a small price to pay I think.
Your feedback on this profile
Recommend this profile for User of the Day: I like this profile
Alert administrators to an offensive profile: I do not like this profile
Account data View
Team None



 
©2023 University of California
 
SETI@home and Astropulse are funded by grants from the National Science Foundation, NASA, and donations from SETI@home volunteers. AstroPulse is funded in part by the NSF through grant AST-0307956.