Account deletion enabled...

Message boards : News : Account deletion enabled...
Message board moderation

To post messages, you must log in.

AuthorMessage
Eric Korpela Project Donor
Volunteer moderator
Project administrator
Project developer
Project scientist
Avatar

Send message
Joined: 3 Apr 99
Posts: 1378
Credit: 54,506,847
RAC: 60
United States
Message 1964284 - Posted: 10 Nov 2018, 2:56:08 UTC
Last modified: 10 Nov 2018, 2:57:10 UTC

We've finally got the BOINC account deletion feature installed and enabled. Account deletion cannot be undone. You'll also need your password and a valid email address for identity verification.

You can access it from your account settings on the web site.
@SETIEric

ID: 1964284 · Report as offensive
Profile Wiggo
Avatar

Send message
Joined: 24 Jan 00
Posts: 22019
Credit: 261,360,520
RAC: 489
Australia
Message 1964322 - Posted: 10 Nov 2018, 7:07:43 UTC

Now who in their right mind would want to do that? :-O

Cheers.
ID: 1964322 · Report as offensive
Profile KarenGurd
Volunteer tester
Avatar

Send message
Joined: 14 Jan 11
Posts: 1
Credit: 19,644,487
RAC: 0
Russia
Message 1964640 - Posted: 11 Nov 2018, 17:05:33 UTC - in response to Message 1964322.  

not bad friend
ID: 1964640 · Report as offensive
BetelgeuseFive Project Donor
Volunteer tester

Send message
Joined: 6 Jul 99
Posts: 157
Credit: 17,117,787
RAC: 19
Netherlands
Message 1964788 - Posted: 12 Nov 2018, 9:07:17 UTC - in response to Message 1964322.  

Now who in their right mind would want to do that? :-O

Cheers.


I am not sure this is about what someone may want to do but about what they are allowed to do under law.
New privacy laws in some countries explicitly state you have a 'right to be forgotten'. This may just be about complying with these laws.

Tom
ID: 1964788 · Report as offensive
Profile James Butler
Volunteer tester

Send message
Joined: 29 Jun 17
Posts: 8
Credit: 2,319,998
RAC: 0
United Kingdom
Message 1974697 - Posted: 11 Jan 2019, 7:03:54 UTC

will it start deleting accounts that havent been used in say over a year so we can see how many users are still active
ID: 1974697 · Report as offensive
Profile Wiggo
Avatar

Send message
Joined: 24 Jan 00
Posts: 22019
Credit: 261,360,520
RAC: 489
Australia
Message 1974701 - Posted: 11 Jan 2019, 7:26:30 UTC

Well it looks like someone took advantage of it a few weeks ago. :-O

Cheers.
ID: 1974701 · Report as offensive
rob smith Crowdfunding Project Donor*Special Project $75 donorSpecial Project $250 donor
Volunteer moderator
Volunteer tester

Send message
Joined: 7 Mar 03
Posts: 20084
Credit: 416,307,556
RAC: 380
United Kingdom
Message 1974711 - Posted: 11 Jan 2019, 8:08:43 UTC - in response to Message 1974697.  

Unlikely - it is designed to allow users to remove their accounts, and as "required" by the European General Data Protection Regulations.
(Although, as SETI doen't have any offices, labs or data storage in the EU the function is probably not required - the data we temporarily use on our computers for crunching doesn't count as we, as individuals have control over that)
Bob Smith
Member of Seti PIPPS (Pluto is a Planet Protest Society)
Somewhere in the (un)known Universe?
ID: 1974711 · Report as offensive
Grant (SSSF)
Volunteer tester

Send message
Joined: 19 Aug 99
Posts: 13187
Credit: 208,696,464
RAC: 304
Australia
Message 1987002 - Posted: 25 Mar 2019, 6:08:56 UTC - in response to Message 1986883.  

I am being informed that when this deletion process happens, not only does it remove the public presence of a poster, it also removes any pm's they may have sent to others, from their inboxes.
Is this true please?

Makes sense.
Bulletin board PMs aren't like normal emails where the message is actually sent to the receiver. When a PM is sent, it's just a case of the message reference number being linked to the receiver's account, and displayed in their inbox.
If an account is deleted, then everything relating to that account needs to be deleted too (so you don't have orphaned data taking up disk space but no longer visible or viewable by anyone). Since the actual message that a receiver sees is the message in the sender's sent items, once the account is deleted, all it's associated data- including sent PMs- would also be deleted.
Grant
Darwin NT
ID: 1987002 · Report as offensive

Message boards : News : Account deletion enabled...


 
©2021 University of California
 
SETI@home and Astropulse are funded by grants from the National Science Foundation, NASA, and donations from SETI@home volunteers. AstroPulse is funded in part by the NSF through grant AST-0307956.