Merging same computer, different OS, different Name


log in

Advanced search

Questions and Answers : Unix/Linux : Merging same computer, different OS, different Name

Author Message
Profile ScarabDrowner
Volunteer tester
Avatar
Send message
Joined: 13 Sep 03
Posts: 90
Credit: 456,378
RAC: 0
United States
Message 1037179 - Posted: 30 Sep 2010, 1:02:16 UTC

I would like to merge my computer ID 5006763, which is this computer when it ran Windows, with my computer ID 5211821 which is the EXACT SAME COMPUTER running Ubuntu.

They have different names, same specs, different OSs. If I go to detail view of 5006763 and try to merge it, I'm told it there aren't any computers to merge it with, and merging by name seems to be out.

What can I do?
____________

Profile arkaynProject donor
Volunteer tester
Avatar
Send message
Joined: 14 May 99
Posts: 3617
Credit: 48,442,856
RAC: 38,912
United States
Message 1037182 - Posted: 30 Sep 2010, 1:20:43 UTC - in response to Message 1037179.

You will be unable to merge them because of the difference of the OS.
____________

Profile ScarabDrowner
Volunteer tester
Avatar
Send message
Joined: 13 Sep 03
Posts: 90
Credit: 456,378
RAC: 0
United States
Message 1037206 - Posted: 30 Sep 2010, 2:28:58 UTC - in response to Message 1037182.

I guess I'll just resort to renaming this computer back to the old name, merge by name, then give it the current name again after that's done.
____________

Profile ScarabDrowner
Volunteer tester
Avatar
Send message
Joined: 13 Sep 03
Posts: 90
Credit: 456,378
RAC: 0
United States
Message 1037209 - Posted: 30 Sep 2010, 2:42:20 UTC - in response to Message 1037206.

I think I found something better:

1. Make sure you have no tasks in your queue (Finish & Upload, abort, report them all)
2. Go to the web site of the project, your list of computers and find your old Host ID number.
3. Stop and Close BOINC.
4. Edit client_state.xml, find the <hostid> tags and replace the number here with the old ID.
5. Find the <rpc_seqno> tag and increment the number here with one or two.
6. Save client_state.xml
7. Restart BOINC.


If I understand the process correctly, that will overwrite the old host id with the current OS and stats, and make the old ID mergable with the current id, correct?
____________

Profile ScarabDrowner
Volunteer tester
Avatar
Send message
Joined: 13 Sep 03
Posts: 90
Credit: 456,378
RAC: 0
United States
Message 1038158 - Posted: 2 Oct 2010, 3:49:10 UTC

Anyone?
____________

Profile ScarabDrowner
Volunteer tester
Avatar
Send message
Joined: 13 Sep 03
Posts: 90
Credit: 456,378
RAC: 0
United States
Message 1041345 - Posted: 11 Oct 2010, 23:17:58 UTC

Wow... is it true that nobody here knows what I'm talking about and thus cannot advise me, or is it the more likely option that nobody gives a damn?
____________

Profile Ageless
Avatar
Send message
Joined: 9 Jun 99
Posts: 12284
Credit: 2,570,290
RAC: 620
Netherlands
Message 1041485 - Posted: 12 Oct 2010, 8:18:05 UTC
Last modified: 12 Oct 2010, 8:18:45 UTC

You were answered already: You cannot merge those computers since the OS they had on them is different. It doesn't matter at that time if you manage to change the hostID number to the one it had before or not, that will only make a new hostID with the latest OS showing; it won't update your OS from Windows to Linux in the Seti database.

Wait until the Windows hostID has no tasks lined up anymore, then the delete host option becomes available.

Windows can merge with Windows.
Linux can merge with Linux.
OS X can merge with OS X.

Windows cannot merge with Linux or OS X.
Linux cannot merge with OS X or Windows.
OS X cannot merge with Windows or Linux.

It doesn't matter if it's the same computer. For all we know you even dual boot and have BOINC installed under either OS on the same computer and want those merged. Of course not.
____________
Jord

Fighting for the correct use of the apostrophe, together with Weird Al Yankovic

Profile ScarabDrowner
Volunteer tester
Avatar
Send message
Joined: 13 Sep 03
Posts: 90
Credit: 456,378
RAC: 0
United States
Message 1041489 - Posted: 12 Oct 2010, 8:25:47 UTC - in response to Message 1041485.

Thank you for the clarification. One more question: would deleting the old host also subtract the credits it has allotted to it?
____________

Profile Ageless
Avatar
Send message
Joined: 9 Jun 99
Posts: 12284
Credit: 2,570,290
RAC: 620
Netherlands
Message 1041490 - Posted: 12 Oct 2010, 8:33:56 UTC - in response to Message 1041489.

No.

Credits will always belong to your account. You can even be banished (for extremely bad behaviour) and keep all your credits.

If you do nothing, the affected computer will be dropped from the 'normal' account viewing anyway. It'll be held in the 30 days plus and older listing, not normally visible to us or you, unless we specify we want to see all computers under that account.
____________
Jord

Fighting for the correct use of the apostrophe, together with Weird Al Yankovic

Questions and Answers : Unix/Linux : Merging same computer, different OS, different Name

Copyright © 2014 University of California