Physhing or worse |
![]() |
| log in |
Questions and Answers : Web site : Physhing or worse
| Author | Message |
|---|---|
|
I have been sent a message from someone who has farmed a load of email addresses from SETI. He has also been trying to add me as a friend on facebook. | |
| ID: 968411 · | |
|
the website appears to be legit. We probably need to have some of our Deutsch readers take a look at the site to make heads or tails of the site. | |
| ID: 968521 · | |
|
Please note. I have received a reply from yahoo. | |
| ID: 969325 · | |
|
...but the info you posted doesn't show "@yahoo.co.uk", it shows "@yahoo.de". | |
| ID: 969373 · | |
...but the info you posted doesn't show "@yahoo.co.uk", it shows "@yahoo.de". The post was sent with the full headers, which are not shown above, to yahoo.com for the attention of yahoo.de. And this was the reply. Why they have said it was yahoo.co.uk and not yahoo.de, I have no idea. Maybe the forged account had further information of a yahoo.co.uk address instead. All I know is that, in this country, it is illegal to send unsolicited emails for any reason. And this was unsolicited. This person had also tried to add me as a friend on facebook. Also, unsolicited and unwanted. Can the forum moderators explain the part of his email about the emails he "COLLECTED FROM BOINC AND SETI", That sounds like farming emails to me and is highly illegal. ____________ | |
| ID: 970633 · | |
Can the forum moderators explain the part of his email about the emails he "COLLECTED FROM BOINC AND SETI", That sounds like farming emails to me and is highly illegal. No, simply because we are forum moderators, not Project Administrators. I have forwarded your question to an Admin for an answer. ____________ | |
| ID: 970638 · | |
Questions and Answers : Web site : Physhing or worse
| Copyright © 2013 University of California |