Careful ! |
![]() |
| log in |
Message boards : Cafe SETI : Careful !
1 · 2 · Next
| Author | Message |
|---|---|
|
Hi, | |
| ID: 476309 · | |
|
I got it too. I believe it to be legit, but I don't know 100% Anyone else? | |
| ID: 476317 · | |
|
I don't know if I got this email yet or not as I'm not at home, but concidering they are doing the Fall/Winter fund raising drive now, I would say its more than likely legit. You can see on the home page here, at the top, about the Donation Drive. | |
| ID: 476318 · | |
I don't know if I got this email yet or not as I'm not at home, but concidering they are doing the Fall/Winter fund raising drive now, I would say its more than likely legit. You can see on the home page here, at the top, about the Donation Drive. The question is : "Did they send this e-mail or did someone take the opportunity to earn money on SETI's back ?" Cheers ! ____________ Anne © anne schmidt - L'Humeur Bleue | |
| ID: 476324 · | |
|
Yes it's legit. It's part of the second fund raising drive.The links in the email are the same as the donation links on the SETI@HOME homepage. | |
| ID: 476327 · | |
I don't know if I got this email yet or not as I'm not at home, but concidering they are doing the Fall/Winter fund raising drive now, I would say its more than likely legit. You can see on the home page here, at the top, about the Donation Drive. As Monday said, the links all lead to SETI's donation page. There's nothing I see that would make me think otherwise. Since as I said above in my last post, they are in the middle of the Fall/Winter fundraising drive. They did the same thing with the last fundraising drive. ____________ | |
| ID: 476329 · | |
|
If you want to donate, but are concerned the email has "spoofed" the SETI home page, simply donate through the home page from your browser, not through the link in the email. | |
| ID: 476347 · | |
|
I donated another $100 | |
| ID: 476362 · | |
I don't know if I got this email yet or not as I'm not at home, but concidering they are doing the Fall/Winter fund raising drive now, I would say its more than likely legit. You can see on the home page here, at the top, about the Donation Drive. It is the exact same e-mail SETI spammed us with last year, except they changed the amount they needed. | |
| ID: 476377 · | |
|
sorry flat broke... | |
| ID: 476387 · | |
sorry flat broke... Me too, kids need a christmas more than me donating money right now, and my bills need to be paid, and we need food to eat, gas in the cars. Sorry. ____________ | |
| ID: 476395 · | |
|
Would love to donate money, but just can't afford it at the moment. Maybe in the future. | |
| ID: 476660 · | |
|
TOO bad We couldn't just send our Love . . . | |
| ID: 476664 · | |
|
No need to worry if anybody cant afford a donation. | |
| ID: 476695 · | |
I don't know if I got this email yet or not as I'm not at home, but concidering they are doing the Fall/Winter fund raising drive now, I would say its more than likely legit. You can see on the home page here, at the top, about the Donation Drive. There is a really easy test for something like this: Look at the URL. The displayed URL is http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/donate.php. If you hover the mouse cursor over the URL, and it doesn't change, that's a good sign. If you click on the link and the location box in the browser stays the same, that's good. What you want to look out for: http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/donate.php?campaign@www.evilsite.org/online-fraud Notice the "@" sign? In a URL that means that everything to the left is a "user name" and the URL basically starts over just to the right of the "@" -- this is commonly used to trick people that look at the host/domain and not at the whole URL. The URL is often "padded" to push the "@" farther to the right. Of course, you can just go to the SETI@Home site and click on "donate" and you'll be safe. ____________ | |
| ID: 476713 · | |
|
It's safe. I used it to donate. And my donations has updated in my profile. Took about 30 minutes for it to reflect. | |
| ID: 476714 · | |
|
You can also click on any of the donation stars after users names to get to the donation page. | |
| ID: 476739 · | |
|
now ain't that a handy piece of info to have | |
| ID: 476748 · | |
|
I can understand Anne's worries absolutely. Last week I almost have been taken in a fraud mail pretending to come from my bank. Thank god I have not reacted on it, else every single detail of my accounts (including TAN and PIN) were now known to that criminal who sent me that mail. | |
| ID: 476750 · | |
You can also click on any of the donation stars after users names to get to the donation page. Hey I like that, kinda neat! ____________ Damsel Rescuer, Kitty Patron, Raccoon Friend, Uli Fan, Julie Supporter, ES99 Admirer, PETA Member, 1st Childhood | |
| ID: 476756 · | |
Message boards : Cafe SETI : Careful !
| Copyright © 2013 University of California |