In the "Account" section of the site
under "computers" where you can merge
and delete hosts, are there any serious
consequences to deleting a host?
Just trying to cleanup, wanted to merge
everything into one host machine.
Is is possible since I'm running windows
at work and RH9 at home? Thnx
> In the "Account" section of the site
> under "computers" where you can merge
> and delete hosts, are there any serious
> consequences to deleting a host?
> Just trying to cleanup, wanted to merge
> everything into one host machine.
> Is is possible since I'm running windows
> at work and RH9 at home? Thnx
You can only merge hosts that are identical - same machine running same os. It's primarily for use when the system duplicates a host and gives it more than one number, but if anything is different it won't let it merge.
As far as deleting hosts, you can only delete a host that has never been given a work unit. If a host has ever been assigned a wu, even if it didn't complete it, it can't be deleted.
Just as a for-instance, I had a panic attack or something about 2 days after I joined the project, deleted my whole boinc subdirectory, and started all over again. I was able to merge my "new" computer ID with the old ID for the same box, got all the credit for both old and new merged into the new ID and the old ID vanished.
Not something I recommend, as all the old WUs that I deleted will timeout (in two weeks) and may need to be re-sent. Some-other-bodies might have to wait an extra 2 weeks to get credit for their copies of those WUs.