Merging computers

Message boards : Number crunching : Merging computers

To post messages, you must log in.

AuthorMessage
Profile MattDavis
Volunteer tester
Avatar

Send message
Joined: 11 Nov 99
Posts: 919
Credit: 934,161
RAC: 0
United States
Message 948 - Posted: 24 Jun 2004, 2:06:48 UTC

hello-

i recently put the new boinc client on 2 computers, my main comp and one i usually keep running just for seti. right after i installed boinc on the 2nd comp i remembered i meant to reformat/reinstall windows (from xp to 2k), so i went ahead and did that and reinstalled boinc

anyway, when i went through my preferences to merge the two seperate listings into 1 computer, the instructions tell me to check the computers i want to merge... but no computers appear on that page! just the MERGE button!

does anyone know why this is, and how i can merge the two computers? thanks in advance

ID: 948 · Report as offensive
Darren
Volunteer tester
Avatar

Send message
Joined: 2 Jul 99
Posts: 259
Credit: 278,869
RAC: 48
United States
Message 956 - Posted: 24 Jun 2004, 2:30:13 UTC - in response to Message 948.

> i recently put the new boinc client on 2 computers, my main comp and one i
> usually keep running just for seti. right after i installed boinc on the 2nd
> comp i remembered i meant to reformat/reinstall windows (from xp to 2k), so i
> went ahead and did that and reinstalled boinc

They can't be merged with a different OS. The only time merging is allowed is if everything about the hosts to be merged is identical - in other words, it has to be the exact same computer that for some reason (such as detached and reattached) has been given 2 or more host id's.

If it never downloaded any work the first time, you'll have an option on that host to completely delete it, but if it downloaded any work it's there in your list forever now.


[url=http://www.boinc.dk/index.php?page=user_statistics&userid=24497]

ID: 956 · Report as offensive
Profile MattDavis
Volunteer tester
Avatar

Send message
Joined: 11 Nov 99
Posts: 919
Credit: 934,161
RAC: 0
United States
Message 1526 - Posted: 24 Jun 2004, 23:55:52 UTC

great, thanks for the information. it was my own dumb fault to rush and stick seti on before i realized i wanted to reformat and put 2k on instead of xp.

i have no problem with that extra computer entry being there, but hopefully the seti people will throw in a little option to remove computers from your profile with 0 credits

ID: 1526 · Report as offensive
John McLeod VII
Volunteer developer
Volunteer tester
Avatar

Send message
Joined: 15 Jul 99
Posts: 24806
Credit: 754,585
RAC: 140
United States
Message 1566 - Posted: 25 Jun 2004, 0:57:48 UTC

If the computer has never been sent a WU, it can be removed, otherwise not.
jm7

ID: 1566 · Report as offensive

Message boards : Number crunching : Merging computers


 
©2016 University of California
 
SETI@home and Astropulse are funded by grants from the National Science Foundation, NASA, and donations from SETI@home volunteers. AstroPulse is funded in part by the NSF through grant AST-0307956.